Tags

, ,

I just got through reading “Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict” by Laurie Viera Rigler and honestly, it was just okay, as if confessing to being addicted to Jane Austen is somehow shameful or sinister. You’ve heard them before: Confession of a Teenage Drama Queen (I have plenty of that in my house); Confession of a Shopaholic (been there, done that); Confession of a Window Cleaner ????; Confession of a Welfare Queen (okay, I’d hunker down at this); and one I’ve never heard of before but could be very interesting, Confession of a Naked Sushi Model! hmm.

I can admit to some of the above, but mostly my confession title would be this: Confession of  a Cooker not a “Baker.” I rarely like to make desserts. I cannot bake, except for the occasional pie. But for Russia, one cannot help but want to bake, and honestly, I am not that good at it. I make horrible chocolate chip cookies, less than desirable brownies, birthday cakes are not really cakes, they are more like “dump” cakes and the list goes on. So, I confess, I cannot bake! Whenever I invite people over and they ask what to bring, before they finish the sentence, I say dessert and if they know me well enough, they bring dessert anyway.

My Russian cookbook will test me this month. I have never made a cheesecake and dairy is so popular in Russia that I will need to make the “Baked Cheesecake.” I will also test my hand at the ” Blueberry Tarts” and the “Bake Bread and Apples.”  I asked a friend what the heck is candy peel? I only know peeling the paper off a Snicker’s bar. So I”ll cross over to the other side and see what it’s really like to be Denise Baker and not Denise Cooker!

I can’t promise great tasting desserts, but I promise to try. What confessions do you have?

Do vstrechi- see you later!

