Tags

, ,

Asia on world Globe

Simply, artlessly, candidly, straightforwardly, unaffectedly, unpretentiously, without any elaboration, is the only way to describe the feelings I have when cooking Vietnamese food. The author of my new cookbook,  Andrea Nguyen, Into the Vietnamese Kitchen, Treasured Foodways, Modern Flavors” (not “in”, but “into”) has a way of pulling you into Viet cooking and feeling like you have been doing this all your life. No boundaries, no foreign ideas, just a fresh face on some time treasured ideas and concepts.This is not to say, that I have liked any other country we have been in any less, but this one is like art. I love art and the beauty that some artists convey with photographs, oil paintings, and sculptures. Food can be artistic and wholly beautiful and Vietnamese cooking captures the senses in a way that maybe I have not experienced before.

My newest addition

I am hoping to cook a lot in a very short amount of time. I started late this month and there is much to do and learn about. I hope you will join me these next couple of weeks and whet your appetite for Viet food. Ms. Nguyen has a quote in her cookbook that she borrowed from the nineteenth century gastronomic philosopher Jean Anthelme Brillat-Sarvarin and one I feel adequately describes our family: “Tell me what you eat, I will tell you what you are.” We will be living, eating and, breathing Vietnamese food and culture these next few weeks.

Take a peak at the menu and some pics.

Bap Cai Xao Trung~~Cabbage and Egg Stir Fry

Chao Ga ~~ Rice Soup with Chicken

Canh Ca Chua Trung ~~ Tomato Egg Drop Soup

Com Ga ~~ Chicken and Vegetable Clay Pot Rice

Thit Bo Xao Khoai Tay Chien ~~Stir Fried Beef with Crispy Fried Rice

Ga Xao Xa Ot ~~ Chicken Stir Fried with Lemongrass and Chile

Mang Tay Xao Nam Huong ~~ Asparagus and Shiitake Mushroom Stir Fry

Pho Bo~~ Beef Pho

Bo Bia ~~ Beef and Jicama Hand Rolls

Trung Chien Tom ~~ Egg, Shrimp and Scallion Pancakes

Dui Vit Quai Mat Ong ~~ Honey Roasted Duck Legs

See you later! ~~ Gặp lại sau nhé

Chao Ga ~~ Rice Soup with Chicken

Bap Cai Xao Trung ~~ Cabbage and Egg

Canh Ca Chua Trung ~~ Tomato Egg Drop Soup

Com Ga ~~ Chicken and Vegetable Clay pot Rice

