Tags

, ,

Women take on many roles in society: leaders, doctors, lawyers, teachers, nurses, and (one I know a little about) – mothers.

I was watching  the other day one of my favorite movies, “My Big Fat Greek Wedding,” with my daughter. If you have not seen this romantic comedy, I encourage you to watch this movie. It is all about female persuasion! Our favorite part came when the main character, Toula, wanted to go the local community college to take some computer classes and her father pronounced an emphatic “no.” Here is what transpired next:

Toula Portokalos: Ma, Dad is so stubborn. What he says goes. “Ah, the man is the head of the house!”
Maria Portokalos: Let me tell you something, Toula. The man is the head, but the woman is the neck. And she can turn the head any way she wants.

Female persuasion at it’s finest. Mothering is no different. We have to be creative, inventive –  and yes many, many times, persuasive.

This month’s culture and food experience takes our family to Egypt. One of the things we like to familiarize ourselves with is common family life. I found it very interesting that the Egyptian women were held in high esteem. Here is a piece written by Ellie Crystal on “Ancient Women in Egypt:”

“Unlike the position of women in most other ancient civilizations, including that of Greece, the Egyptian woman seems to have enjoyed the same legal and economic rights as the Egyptian man – at least in theory. This notion is reflected in Egyptian art and historical inscriptions.

It is uncertain why these rights existed for the woman in Egypt but no where else in the ancient world. It may well be that such rights were ultimately related to the theoretical role of the king in Egyptian society. If the pharaoh was the personification of Egypt, and he represented the corporate personality of the Egyptian state, then men and women might not have been seen in their familiar relationships, but rather, only in regard to this royal center of society.

Since Egyptian national identity would have derived from all people sharing a common relationship with the king, then in this relationship, which all men and women shared equally, they were–in a sense–equal to each other. This is not to say that Egypt was an egalitarian society. It was not. Legal distinctions in Egypt were apparently based much more upon differences in the social classes, rather than differences in gender. Rights and privileges were not uniform from one class to another, but within the given classes, it seems that equal economic and legal rights were, for the most part, accorded to both men and women.”

One of the most famous Egyptians was Cleopatra. She was considered by historians to be the last known Egyptian pharaoh. Just think, we are talking about 51 BC when this influential woman held such a position of prominence and power in a man dominated world. We have yet to see a female president in the US today in 2010. Of course, this story ended tragically for Cleopatra, but we won’t go there today.

Tomorrow we celebrate a time-honored tradition, Mother’s Day! I love being a mom. It is the best job in the world. The pay is super low, but the rewards and bonuses, well – you can’t measure. I know I carry a lot of weight in the house when I overhear one of my kids say “go ask mom, she knows,” and yes, even my husband will say the same thing. Who said Father knows best?

Like any mother, I worry if I am still important in my kids lives, especially since they are in college or getting ready to go. Sometimes, I wonder  if I have given them the right tools to make it out in the world. And even still, can I persuade them to do the right things – that list is too long to name – but perhaps you know the feeling.

So for mother’s day, my oldest daughter said she found  “part” of a song that she wanted me to have as her gift for Mother’s Day to me and I wanted to share it with my mom and all moms who wonder if they still “got it.” It is sung by Carrie Underwood and is called “Mama’s Song.” It’s partly about a daughter reassuring her mama that her daughter is going to be alright. Here is a portion of the lyrics that she wanted me to have:

Mama you taught me to do the right things
So now you have to let your baby fly
You’ve given me everything that I will need
To make it through this crazy thing called life

And I know you watched me grow up
And only want what’s best for me
And I think I found the answer to your prayers.

What more could I ask for.

Happy Mother’s day!

