Tags

, , , , ,

I like this combination of words –eat, pray, love– but they aren’t strong enough for me. Let’s see … here are some other verbs that express the same idea but differently: nosh, request, admire; munch, petition, cherish – and even this – pig out, propose, crazy about.

Compared to the list above, eat, pray, love, possibly express a higher or more lofty sentiment.  All these examples are great, but it all boils down to one word for me: passion – passion for life, passion for spouse, passion for sports.

You name it (whatever “it” is), and I bet you I can find someone who is passionate about it. One thing our family likes to do is eat! We are passionate about all things related to cooking and eating.  Hence, the reason for this blog. Call it craziness, enthusiasm, desire, agony, hunger, but it translates to the same thing: PASSION.

If you have been following this blog, you know that this month’s passion is Spain. Spanish cuisine invites one to taste the pungent flavors and subtle combination of spices of Spanish foods for that lusty, yet refined meal…WOW…Passionate.  I love how my passion for cooking translates  into a marvelous culinary adventure each month.

This weekend was indeed a culinary adventure. I face-booked a few friends to help me locate some items: quail, figs, and grape leaves. I ventured beyond the ordinary toward the exquisite and rare. What  I uncovered was a jewel. I loved the combination of flavors: poultry, grape leaves, thyme and white wine. I made a Cornish hen stand in for the quail. Quail was too expensive.  Perhaps sometime later, I will try the small bird for an anniversary celebration or something. The hens, however, tender and juicy in all their glory, did not disappoint!

Try it and see what you think!

Gallinas de Cornualles Asadas en Hoja de Parra -Roasted Cornish Hens with Grape Leaves from the Book “The Foods & Wines of Spain” by Penelope Casas~”the bacon juices, mingled with a touch of wine, provide and excellent sauce.” Serves 4-6

8 Grape leaves, packed in brine

4 cornish hens, trussed

Butter (my substitution instead of lard)

Salt

Thyme

8 Thin slices of Bacon

4 Tablespoons Chicken Broth

4 teaspoons of white wine

Separate the grape leaves and place them in boiling water for 3 minutes. Drain. Rub the hens well with butter, using about 2 tablespoon of butter per hen. Sprinkle the hen with salt and thyme. Cover each hen with a grape leaf, ( I used 2 per hen), then wrap 2 slices of bacon around each bird. Secure it with string or small skewers. Place in oven casserole, preferably earthenware (I used a plain casserole dish). Add some butter pats, the broth, and the wine. Bake uncovered at 350 degrees for at least 1 hour to 1 1/2 hours, adding more broth if necessary, to keep the pan from drying. Remove string or skewers and pour on the pan juices. Serve with some potatoes and a nice full-bodied red Reserva wine.

“Love is the greatest refreshment in life”~Pablo Picasso

“So go live, love, and love again.”~~me

