Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love pasta. Italians eat about sixty pounds of pasta per year and we Americans manage twenty pounds~~not too bad. When you think of Italian food, most people associate pasta kinds of dishes with the culture. It’s true there are lots of yummy pasta recipes and this is one of them. It takes some time, but you are gonna like it. I found it in a magazine that had some cool Italian Recipes.

First, let’s make one thing clear, fresh pasta is not superior to dried, it’s just that fresh is used in different ways for different dishes. I used dried. By the way, spaghetti is my favorite birthday meal and I have it just about every year (I will not tell you how old I am!). Another fact, I do not make spaghetti very often, but when I do, my family loves it!

 

Spaghetti with Sauce Italiano

prep 25 minutes Cook: 8-10 Hours (low) or 4-5 hours (high)

Makes 6-8 servings

1 pound ground bulk Italian sausage or ground beef ( I used a mixture of both)

1 cup chopped onion

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 -14.5 ounce cans dices tomatoes, undrained

2 – 4 oz. cans (drained) mushrooms stems and pieces

1-6 oz. can tomato paste

1 bay leaf

1 to 2 tablespoons snipped fresh oregano or 2 teaspoons dried Italian seasoning, crushed

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1 cup sweet green pepper

12 -16 ounces dried spaghetti, cooked and drained

Grated fresh Parmesan cheese

In a large skillet, cook sausage, onion,and garlic over medium heat until meat is brown and onion is tender. Drain off fat. Meanwhile, in a 3 1/2  or 4 quart slow cooker, stir together undrained tomatoes, drained mushrooms (if desired), tomato paste, bat leaf, oregano, salt and black pepper. Cover and cook over low heat setting for 8 to 10 hours or on high heat for 4 to 5 hours. Remove and discard bay leaf. Stir in sweet pepper. Serve over hot cooked spaghetti. If desires, sprinkle with cheese.

Here is how much I love pasta, take a listen:

Ciao!

 

 

