Tags

, , , , , ,

Simply the best. In the last post, I hinted that Turkish cuisine has Far East influences and Mediterranean improvisation. I would like to interject here that I am not good at improvisation or crafting something out of nothing. I admit I have to follow a recipe and I do not like re-inventing the wheel. When there’s so many good recipes why try to come up with a new recipe or try to do it differently. I admire those that can “wing it” with a recipe. Not me, I like the tried and true. What I am good at- is picking out winning recipes. I can tell you without pictures, if it’s going to be good. I might  lack “improvisation” but I can tell you straight up if it’s gonna work. The Turkish cooks got it perfect for this one.

As for the this salad’s structure, it is made up of red wine vinegar, the great northern bean and the unconventional black olive. You can’t beat the colors and I love the egg thrown in there. This one is gonna work!

Bean Salad by Hatice Orun Ozturk

1 can of great northern beans

1 large tomato

1/2 red onions

3 tablespoons olive oil

5 tablespoons white wine vinegar (I used red)

1/4 teaspoon salt

Parsley

1 Hard boiled egg (optional)

Cured Black Olives (I used pitted black)

This is a very popular salad that goes great with kebabs. In Turkey, the beans are first soaked in water and then cooked until done. While this is certainly the best way to cook the dried beans, it is possible to come very close to the original taste of this salad by using high quality canned great northern beans readily available. It is essential that the ingredient list should include nothing other than beans, salt and water. Finely slice the red onion and put the slices in a shallow bowl. Sprinkle at least 1 teaspoon of salt on the onion slices and use your fingers to evenly coat them with salt. The onions soften as the salt absorbs the juice of the onions. Set aside for a few minutes. Wash them under running water and squeeze their excess juice using your fingers.

Discard the juice from the can and wash the beans under plenty of running water until the water is clear.

Slice the tomato into small cubes and chop the parsley rather coarsely.

Mix all the ingredients, garnish them with the hard-boiled egg slices and black olives. Serve as a cold appetizer (meze) or salad.

Daha Sonra bakin-see you later!

