Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

A caribou is a reindeer and an Elk is a species of Deer, and I can’t forget to include the Moose in the Deer Family tree. Now that I got that all worked out, I need to find me some of it! In my area, I can get the bison. Reindeer is a bit more difficult.  Alaska is the place to be in our home this month. It’s great. I can get lots of the Wild Alaskan fish,but game…now that’s a whole other Alaska.

My aunt’s husband is a taxidermist (the art of preparing and preserving the skins of animals and of stuffing and mounting them in lifelike form-dictionary.com). Perhaps, he has the goods on how to score me some game. I would like to try out some of these Alaskan Recipes like: Caribou Swiss Steak, Moose Stew, or some Ground Filet of Moose. I am determined to get it somewhere. My mom lovingly added that I can ask Sarah Palin to send me some to which my husband responded “she’ll shoot it for ya.”

In the meantime, here’s some foods and pics of Alaskan recipes that I prepared last week some from:

http://www.alaskanchefshawn.com/

 

“I ask people why they have deer heads on their walls. They always say because it’s such a beautiful animal. There you go. I think my mother is attractive, but I have photographs of her.” Ellen DeGeneres

See you later!

