Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The Frugal Gourmet

Image by sweet mustache via Flickr

“Do not overcook this dish. Most seafoods…should be simply threatened with heat and then celebrated with joy.”


Jeff Smith (The Frugal Gourmet)

This week’s menu, alas, is Seafood. I wonder if this is what the Eskimo mom says when she plans her weekly meals?  “Kids, it’s boiled seal or fried whale, again, for dinner tonight.”

It has been a real treat to cook lots of seafood this month for Alaska. It’s a change from some of the heavy laden dishes I made last year while concentrating in International foods. This is partly due to knowing more about  “farmed” versus “wild” seafood. I would say “fresh”, but unless you live on or  live very near a coast, it is very difficult to get “fresh.”

I am still on the hunt for game, but for now, here is how the week will  turn out: recipes from my cookbook and http://www.alaskanchefshawn.com/

Wild Alaskan Salmon Croquettes with Sour Cream Dill Sauce

Wild Alaskan Halibut with Asian Slaw and Thai Mayonnaise

Balsamic Glazed Kodiak Scallops with Tomato Salsa

Shrimp and Crab Enchiladas

Wildberrry Salmon Salad

Fried Oyster Salad with Jalapeno Corn Relish

I am checking with a local butcher who sells “exotic meats” this week. The best I think he can get before the end of the month will be buffalo and venison. I will let you know how that turns out.

But for now, if you are interested in the costs of seafood and the meals, it is a lot cheaper than eating out. I have figured that for four of us including all the other meals for lunch and breakfast (not included in menu noted above) averaged to $4.00 a person per meal (about $16.00 a meal for 4 which also includes snacks).

Not too shabby.

See you later.

 

