Tags

,

Image

Spice Girls-remember them? Posh? Baby? was there a Sugar spice?-The lyrics are from a song titled “Wannnbe.” Not sure how I got these girls on my mind, except I was thinking about spice. I remember thinking at the end of 2010, that my cooking needed a jump start, something big- something saucy, sexy and spicy. I wanted a challenge.

Challenges are funny- the right one can soar you into places that you didn’t think you could go and others are like mud-stuck in it big time-slows you way down. Those challenges literally suck.

I was stuck in a cooking rut and needed some spice. I really, really wanted a blog. I got that. I really wanted to cook something sexy…so I started cooking Indian-I LOVED IT! I was mad about it. I made sure that for one month, our family did nothing but eat, breathe and sleep Indian. SO much so, that our skins smelled of the local Indian restaurant. My husband was often asked if he just got through eating at the local Indian restaurant- yup-mine. We watched Bollywood movies, listened to Indian music, read Indian books and at the end of my one month challenge, had a party with all my neighbors and friends.

That cooking challenge lasted 14 months and took me and my family places that put us outside our food comforts and we got to like some amazing international foods.

So, I’ll tell you what I want, what I really, really want-a challenge. A new one. I have it, but I am working it out and it may be one of the hardest yet-it is not a new cooking challenge-although I am working on something big for that too, no, it’s much bigger. A good challenge takes time. So I am taking my time and making it good. I have a lot of passion for it and yes it is spicy, full of color and life.

