Tags

, , , , , , ,

cupcakesYou ask what the two have in common- nothing except me. I am working this spring and summer on a cupcake series based on the cookbook “Hello Cupcake!” Not to be outdone by cuteness, I will be cooking a savory component using local in-season farmer’s market ingredients from “The New Southern Garden Cookbook.” And because I need another thing to do, I will be learning how to cook Panamanian food in May. My daughter will be traveling to Panama for a cultural and language study and so I said “what’s one more thing, we gotta eat.”

In regards to cupcakes, I have learned that it is a serious business and for none other than the wedding industry. They are so cute. Not the marital couple, but those little cake/muffin like things with frosting on top. Add to that, the fun little cupcake holders. My first one will be a Sweet Potato Cupcake with Cream Cheese Frosting-healthy AND sweet. Following those, I will be using local beets to make a Lentil Salad with Beets and Goat Cheese.- EVERYTHING I LOVE!! Perhaps at the end of May, I will learn how to make a Panamanian dish that will encompass all three-sweet, savory and exotic. Follow along as we learn together.

Upcoming Baking and Cooking:

Sweet Potato Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting

Lentil Salad with Beets and Goat Cheese

Rhubarb Cheesecake Cupcakes

Strawberry Compote with Aged Balsamic Vinegar and Cracked Pepper atop Brie

