Tags

, , , , , ,

858767_fall_apples_1“As American as Apple Pie”- if you were born in this century, you’ve surely heard this. It’s means through and through American. Did you know that the apples we eat today were not born in the USA? Crabapples were the only native apples we had in this land. Apple seeds came over from Europe in the 17th century by the colonists and planted along the Native American trading routes. If you want to check out some really fun facts look at this: http://urbanext.illinois.edu/apples/facts.cfm’

As a kid I never really appreciated the apple fruit in my bagged lunch. Today, I prefer my apple sliced before I eat them. But the best way I like apples is in an apple pie, double crusted with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream. I may have mentioned that baking is not my first love and I prefer to cook, but my favorite item to bake is a pie. I have been making these crusty desserts for years and my son will often request a pie for his birthday over cake any day.

With all the aforementioned in mind, I made a pie today for a neighbor. He told me he and his wife wanted an apple pie and could not find any local place that makes them fresh. I told him, that I would make him mine. I did it and let’s hope it’s everything they imagined.

Have a great day all!

908689_10201115999681835_1764593225_n

