Tags

, , , , , ,

Shirred Eggs with Kale and Mushrooms 3Shirred eggs are so easy to make! Place eggs in buttered ramekins with a little cream and cook quickly under the broiler until the eggs whites are softly set and the yolk is a little runny. Add ingredients that you have on hand and you have a nice dinner or lunch. In my case, I added sautéed mushrooms, onions and kale, and topped the eggs with Parmesan. I also had some French Green beans-which I steamed and added a sprinkling of olive oil with a squirt of lemon juice. The girl was home from college and we naturally plunked thick cut bacon on the plate. Since my daughter likes her eggs a bit more baked than I do, I did hers where the yolk was more cooked. I like my eggs runny, so I timed mine a little less. An Uncooked Shirred Eggsabsolutely lovely brunch and very impressive.

Sitting here writing this, it feels like 2014 is moving so quickly and soon the month of February will gently close. I am looking at starting my third month of French cooking with some fresher, lighter recipes.

But February is not over yet! To close out this month, I will add to the menu ingredients with beets, lemon, more kale and mushrooms and some sort of apple and lemon dessert.  I will focus on a chicken fricassee and perhaps something as simple as pork chops with a mustard and cream sauce.

But let’s get to the recipe:

Kale and Mushroom Shirred Eggs adapted from Barefoot in Paris by Ina Garten

Kale and Mushroom Shirred Eggs

1 tablespoon minced each fresh parsley and thyme
1 tablespoon freshly grated Parmesan cheese
6 extra-large eggs (I used 2 eggs each for my 4 ramekins-judge accordingly)
2 tablespoons heavy cream
1 tablespoon unsalted butter

Adapted part
2 tablespoons kale, chopped

2 mushrooms, minced

1 tablespoons onion, minced

1 tablespoon butter

Saute the above adapted part in butter for five minutes and place on top of eggs. Top with Parmesan and place in broiler as directed below.

Kosher salt
Freshly ground black pepper

Pre-heat the broiler for 5 minutes and place the oven rack 6 inches below the heat.

Carefully crack 2 or 3 eggs for each ramekin into a bowl (you won’t be baking them in these) without breaking the yolks. (It’s very important to have all the eggs ready to go before you start cooking.)

Place individual gratin dishes on a baking sheet. Place 1 tablespoon of cream and ½ tablespoon of butter in each dish and place under the broiler for about 3 minutes, until hot and bubbly. Quickly, but carefully, pour your desired egg love-in-paris-1389804-mamount into each gratin dish and sprinkle evenly with the parsley and thyme then add the sautéed kale, mushrooms, and onions and sprinkle liberally with salt and pepper and then top with Parmesan. Place back under the broiler for 5 to 6 minutes, until the whites of the eggs are almost cooked. (Rotate the baking sheet once if they aren’t cooking evenly.) The eggs will continue to cook after you take them out of the oven. Allow to set for 60 seconds.

Enhanced by Zemanta
