Tags

, , , , ,

Trimmed AspDo you need a spring lift?

Just the other day it was 70 degrees and I was ready to sun on the rooftop of my loft. Well almost.

I was definitely walking with a “spring” in my step- just me and my dog, thinking of gardening and sunning. Making plans to make light salads and getting a grill to put on our teeny deck- lalalalalalala….then BAM, a snow watch coming…COME ON!!

I know I am not the only one with these sentiments. I refused to give up on my sunny disposition and so I dug in my heels.

I decided to look for something light and bouncy- like how I was feeling. My revolution: to make lighter French Food Fare.green beans

Asparagus and Greens Beans with a light vinaigrette was exactly the answer. Yes, the French can think airy and bright. It’s not always about stews, daubes and gratins.

This weekend in the Carolinas, we will be in the mid 60’s and on Sunday- beautiful. No rain, no snow, just pure sunshine.

So make something fun.

Check out the recipe below.

Asparagus & Haricots Verts Salad Les Halles Cookbook

Ingredients

Salt

1 bunch asparagus, trimmed, stem peeled and bound together with kitchen string (all spears facing in the same direction)

6 ounces

3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

juice of 1/2 lemon

white pepper (I used black pepper)

1 navel orange, segmentedAsparagus and Green Beans

Serves 4

Have Ice Bath prepared in a large bowl.

Fill a large pot with water, add a few tablespoons of salt, and bring to a boil. Add the Asparagus and cook for 5 minutes, or until bright green and tender. Remove from the boiling water with the slotted spoon and place in the ice bath. Be gentle. Once cold, remove the asparagus from the water, discard the string, and set aside.

Bring the same water in the same pot back up to a rolling boil and cook beans for 5 minutes, and then remove the slotted spotted and drop into the ice bath. When cold, remove and set aside. Metal asparagus eiffel-tower-1-701154-m

In the small bowl, combine the olive oil and the lemon juice and mix well with the fork. Season with salt and pepper.

Pat the vegetables dry with paper towels. Combine the vegetables in a plate or salad bowl. Add the vinaigrette and toss gently to coat. Add the orange segments and serve immediately.

My other option vinaigrette ideas: Champagne Vinaigrette, Dijon Mustard and Olive oil with a touch of red wine vinaigrette and lemon juice.

Enhanced by Zemanta
