Tags

, , , , ,

NapkinsI learned all about cooking asparagus while I was a caterer during my days at Whole Foods. Roasted Asparagus, Steamed Asparagus, and Vinaigrette Asparagus are just a few that I have under my belt. Here’s a new asparagus dish from my cookbook The Foods & Wines of Spain by Penelope Casas- Espárragos Amagueros. I adapted this recipe to my liking (See recipe below). When it calls for breadcrumbs- I added them to the end of the cooking process instead of adding them in the middle. Enjoy it as much as we did. cropped-asparagus.jpg

Asparagus with Garlic and Paprika- Espárragos Amagueros Serves 4

1 pound thin asparagus

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 style French-style bread

1 clove garlic, peeled

1/4 teaspoon paprika

1/2 cup water

1 tablespoon vinegar

Salt

1 tablespoon parsley

Snap off the ends of the asparagus. Heat the oil in a skillet and fry the bread slice until it is golden. Remove to a blender or processor. Saute the garlic clove in the oil until it is golden and remove it to the blender also. In the same oil, sauté the asparagus for 3 minutes. Add the paprika and stir the coat. Pour in the water, cover, and cook until the asparagus is almost tender. Meanwhile, [process] the bread and garlic. (Here is where I change the recipe and did not add vinegar or cooking liquid but added the breadcrumbs to the finished asparagus dish). Add vinegar to the processor and a few tablespoons of the cooking liquid from the asparagus. Pour the mixture over the asparagus. Salt to taste and continue cooking 5 minutes more, or until the asparagus is tender. Sprinkle with parsley and serve. 0408161918

 

 

 

 

