Tags

, , , , ,

Wild or Farm? I am not talking about the wild or farm girls in the west. I’m talking Salmon-Wild Salmon in Alaska.

I love fish and especially Salmon. If you are reading this for the first time, our family is covering Alaskan food and culture for the month of January. I am so happy to start the year off with fish. Salmon is one of the best for the heart, blood, memory and even my joints. Sounds boring, eh? But let me tell you, after cooking a year of International cooking (especially foods laden in sour cream and heavy in the meats), I am looking forward to lighter cooking. What better place to start than eating Wild Alaskan Salmon.

If you can truly get a Wild Alaskan Salmon, get it. Farmed Salmon definitely will not have the same quality as the Wild Alaskan. Much like fattening up a chicken on the farm, the farmed salmon get fed food coloring dye; don’t have as much of the Omega 3 Fatty Acids;  contain the usual antibiotics; and if that is not bad enough, they also get chemicals to make them plump and large. It’s better to get a smaller amount of Wild Alaskan Salmon at a higher price than to get a lot of farmed low quality Salmon at a reduced price.

If you want to know more about how Omega 3 fatty Acids are good for you, then read this:   http://www.umm.edu/altmed/articles/omega-3-000316.htm

I am convinced after a month of eating the good stuff, my heart will love me.

Now that we are well on our way in Alaska, I got the menu picked out and a couple of meals prepared under our belt. Take a peek at the menu for the week ahead…some I found online

http://www.alaskanchefshawn.com/

  • Alaskan Shrimp Jambalaya
  • Horseradish Crusted Wild Alaskan Salmon and Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes
  • Alaskan Winter Ale French Onion Soup
  • Alaskan Halibut Florentine
  • Yukon Potato Soup with Alaskan Smoked Salmon Relish
  • Alaskan Shrimp Frittata
  • Alaskan Cioppino

Come join me on the next post when I write about the Eskimo diet. Igloos anyone?

“Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day… Teach a man to fish and he will sit in a boat and drink beer all day…” ~unknown.

See ya later!

