Tags

, , ,

Fishing

Image by nicholasjon via Flickr

I was really proud of my son this week. He made his first fish meal. It was an Australian kind of fish that I picked up at the market. I have said before that he likes fish more than red meat. Now the opposite is true of my youngest. She orders chicken at a fish restaurant. eek. My husband and I can eat fish any time of the day and any day of the week

I have a favorite fish memory. It has nothing to do with eating fish. My dad took the family fishing in Colorado at a fish pond when I was a young girl. More like one of those fish farms. I wanted so badly to catch a fish. My son once told me that once you got a bite, you got the bug. The bug to keep going. He could fish for hours, hoping for the big fish tale to tell. My husband on the other hand, likes to cast net and he can get a few good ones. He usually went in the morning and it was not caught too long before we had it frying in the pan for breakfast.

Tonight was a fish night with friends at a local Burlington restaurant. It was standing room only as soon as we got there while we waited for our seats. I had oysters, Kevin had a feast of fish-crab, shrimp, scallops, and some others I can’t remember and my youngest had chicken. Laughter, storytelling, and fish fullness. I needed to have a fish night so that I can create another great fish memory. I think my posts have lots of fish stories. I guess that is why they call them fish tales. Grand stories to share around the table with family and  friends. Like tonight. So son, thank you for making me a memory.

