Tags

, , , , , ,

I am excited for 2017! It means a new month and new cooking adventures. I really love international cooking and learning new things about countries that I might get to visit or not.

In December, I gathered all the family for January’s country culinary pick. Greece won and here we go- cooking all things Greek in January. Not only do I like to cook, I also like to get to know the country. I do that by reading about Greece. In the news right now is about refugees from Syria, Iraq and Aleppeo currently coming in and finding safe haven from dire home situations.

Other things that we like to do is watch Greek shows (“My Big Fat Greek Wedding is not the only show), listen to music and find other ways for this immersion experience. It has also been our habit to pray for that country- its problems, people and land. The world is getting smaller- especially with technological advances pushing us closer. Why not get to know our neighbor and what better way than to cook a few meals and pray for the people of Greece.

I am using the cookbook “The Complete Greek Cookbook- the Best from 3000 years of Greek Cooking” by Theresa Karas Yianolos. So far, I have found it intriguing. A menu from Homer and Plato to a simple dish of olives, cheese and bread can be found in the book. I will be posting as much as I can the dishes I have cooked so far.

Here’s one that you might find easy to prepare:0117171708a_hdr-3

Greek Oven Chicken (adapted)

3-4 Bone in Chicken breasts

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon pepper

1/2 teaspoon each of the following: oregano, paprika, parsley, thyme, spearmint flakes, garlic powder, cayenne.

1/4 pound butter

1/2 oil

Take the oil and butter and place in casserole dish. Heat in 450 oven. Meanwhile while that is heating, wash chicken and dry. Put flour and seasonings in a bag and shake. Add Chicken to the bag and make sure the flour covers each piece. Lay pieces of chicken in melted butter/oil and take a pastry brush and brush the butter/oil on top of chicken. Bake at 450 degrees for 1 hour basting twice while baking. Turn pieces over to crisp on the other side during the last 1/2 hour. Make sure you temp it to 165 and if needs more cooking – cook for 10 more minutes. Remove chicken to a warming plate. Add 1 cup very hot or boiling water to the casserole dish to make a gravy. Serve with rice or potatoes and enjoy.

